Attractive Fritter: Cheap and Cheerful

April 28, 2011 § 5 Comments

As with many people, NB and I are trying to cut back on spending and put something aside for a rainy day. Fortunately for NB I’ve never felt the desire to spend my Saturdays clothes shopping or my Friday evenings getting facials and acupuncture (but that could be nice!!). Instead, the money I earn generally goes straight to my local grocer. Now I don’t think that this is a bad thing at all, I’m investing in my body, health and soul after all, but perhaps I could stretch the dollar a little further every now and again (I still argue that we needed the 6 bags of vacuum-packed umeboshi…)

Last night was ‘Cheap and Cheerful’, a new once a week section that will feature at the Strawberry Patch. For less than $8 I served up chicken legs that had been baked with lemon, white wine, chicken stock, garlic, chorizo, fennel, thyme and a few dollops of pesto ($5), wilted garlic spinach (50c) and zucchini, corn and fetta fritters ($2). Simple and delicious.

Unfortunately, even though the fritters tasted terrific, they certainly weren’t photogenic like Bills.

Tell me Blushers, does anyone have a secret to making their fritters service sexy??!

Zucchini, Corn and Fetta fritters

(Serves 2 -3)

In a large bowl grate 2 large zucchini (summer squash), shuck 2 cobs corn, and crumble in a good chunk of fetta. Season with pepper and a little paprika. In a separate bowl whisk together 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup flour and 3 eggs with a pinch of salt and some fresh parsley. Add the wet mixture to the dry and stir to combine. Cook fritters in a frypan over medium heat until cooked through, turning once. Keep warm in the oven while you cook the remaining fritters.

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to Attractive Fritter: Cheap and Cheerful

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Attractive Fritter: Cheap and Cheerful at Blushing Strawberries.

meta