A quotable cake.

April 19, 2011 § 11 Comments

In my family birthdays are never single day events. Normally celebrations will begin at home, before moving on to parties with friends and finally sharing a meal with other members of the family. In fact, until I moved to Sydney I don’t remember having a birthday that wasn’t extended for 7 – 10 days. It was just the way we did things.

Yesterday was NB’s birthday (hip hip hooray), and in true Blushing style we started the party on Saturday and won’t wrap it up until after the last slice of cake tonight!

The first part of Saturday welcomed us with torrential rain, so bad that I had expected to see Noah sail past at any given moment, but it was the perfect excuse to stay inside and make a cake.

When I was growing up The Duck would make the most INCREDIBLE cakes. We would always have one for the birthday party and another one to take to school and share with the class. These cakes looked like they had stepped straight out of a Disney set and they tasted like heaven, making me the classroom hero for the next four hours. Over the course of the years I think that my brother and I had every cake in The Women’s Weekly Birthday Cake Book (editions one and two), and the AWW Party Cakes For All Occasions. When we started getting older things became a little more sophisticated: triple layer mousse cake, profiterole towers, friands decorated with wildflowers…but I’ll always love remembering the look on my brother’s face when ‘Joe Bad’ was brought to the table in all its vibrant hair and safety-pin nose ring glory.

This year I wanted to bring back that fun. So the question came – what to make? Well Blushers, should you ever converse with NB and his friends you should expect to hear something along the following lines:

  1. Homer: When I held that gun in my hand, I felt a surge of power…like God must feel when he’s holding a gun.
  2. Ned Flanders: I’ve done everything the Bible says — even the stuff that contradicts the other stuff!
  3. Homer: I’m normally not a praying man, but if you’re up there, please save me, Superman.
  4. Comic Book Guy: Your questions have become more redundant and annoying than the last three “Highlander” movies.
  5. Homer: You don’t like your job, you don’t strike. You go in every day and do it really half-assed. That’s the American way.
  6. Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.
  7. Homer: Fame was like a drug. But what was even more like a drug were the drugs
  8. Sideshow Bob: I’ll be back. You can’t keep the Democrats out of the White House forever, and when they get in, I’m back on the streets, with all my criminal buddies.
  9. Homer: Weaseling out of things is important to learn. It’s what separates us from the animals…except the weasel.
  10. Milhouse: Remember the time he ate my goldfish? And you lied and said I never had goldfish. Then why did I have the bowl, Bart? *Why did I have the bowl?*
  11. Homer: Kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.
  12. Lionel Hutz: Well, he’s kind of had it in for me ever since I accidentally ran over his dog. Actually, replace “accidentally” with “repeatedly” and replace “dog” with “son.”
  13. Homer: Lisa, vampires are make-believe, like elves, gremlins, and Eskimos.

…And so on!

I’m repeatedly impressed by how two men can carry out a whole conversation in quotes when I can’t even remember the punch line of a joke.

Ironically, after the candles were blown out no-one quoted a thing…should I have known I might have said:

Marge: Aww, look, Homie, our wedding cake!

Homer: You mean there’s been cake in our freezer for eleven years? Why was I not informed?

or…

Homer: Keep looking shocked and move slowly towards the cake.


I used Nigella Lawson’s chocolate cake recipe

The top is iced with a simple carrot cake cream cheese frosting, NB’s favourite, and I used a black gel-icing pen to draw the outline once I had finished the colour.

The center is filled with melted chocolate and mascarpone.

Around the edge is chocolate buttercream. I don’t worry about quantities when I make this, just a good chunk of butter, some icing sugar and melted chocolate…I really don’t think it can go wrong with those three ingredients!

Tell me Blushers, what was your favourite cake when you were growing up?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 11 Responses to A quotable cake.

  • Kelly says:

    Mmmm, that sounds so good! I don’t think I’ve ever had marscapone on a cake before. I am a huge fan of chocolate on chocolate courtesy of my Aunt Tonya or her strawberry cake.

  • Oh my god that is brilliant! You are so clever! It’s totally genius 😀

  • ducky says:

    Jenn what a fantastically brilliant cake-NB must still be in total shock !!! Was so nice to be reminded of the Joe Bad cake I made Nich and all the others…. my,time flies..This one is a masterpiece darling!!

  • Faith says:

    What a great cake! Sounds like it was absolutely delicious too. Happy (belated) birthday to NB!

  • Looks like you carry The Ducks cake making skills as well. Very impressed!
    You must have been the luckiest kid on the block to go through all those cakes as a kid. I remember scanning every page of those books but not a lot was baked from them.
    Also super happy to hear there was some mascarpone in there 😉

    • I remember those cake books & birthdays too, I used to start going through them weeks before my birthday & changing my mind every other day. I can still remember my 13th birthday cake….. that was the year I lacked imagination in my haste to announce to the world I had arrived as a teen. Yep…. it was a 13.
      Well done Jennifer, you have most definatly inherited The duck’s talents & Happy Birthday NB.
      Have a great Easter Holiday girlfriend 🙂

    • I’ve been meaning to try it for ages, although it needs a second attempt because my cheesecloth kept slipping away! And the vanilla bean idea is terrific!

  • I am so impressed! That is one beautiful (and delicious sounding cake). I don’t remember anyone ever making me a cake, which kind of sucks. It was always bought, and my favorite cake was a coconut layer cake which my mom bought from the frozen section of the supermarket LOL, I’ve come a long way, but I still think that cake is divine!
    *kisses* HH

    • Sometimes when I went to friends birthdays at Mcdonalds and they would bring out that three coloured ice cream cake with sprinkles and i would think it was the greatest thing in the world! The simple things in life!!

  • […] A quotable cake. – A delectable looking Homer cake, complete with lots of quotes and photos. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A quotable cake. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta