Country Style: Chocolate Melting Moments

March 22, 2011 § 8 Comments

A few weeks ago the delicious Brydie over at CityHippyFarmGirl pondered about what songs to make cupcakes too? Well lately I’ve been listening to a lot of country music, it’s my guilty pleasure, and there’s something to do with a tune about a dog, a woman and a pickup that makes me want to bake.

 

 

I first made these biscuits when the A Team came over for dinner. I wanted something light and chocolate based so I fiddled around with a melting moment recipe and excavated the pantry until I found three types of chocolate: dark, white and cocoa. For a dessert served with ice cream they were good, but I felt they were too chalky and dry to live in the biscuit jar for random sweet-time-snacks.

So today was back to the drawing-board with the support of Kenny Chesney and Carrie Underwood.

 

‘Cause I got friends in low places,
Where the Whiskey drowns,
And the Beer chases my blues away,
But I’ll be okay,
Now I’m not big on social graces,
Think I’ll slip on down to the oasis,
Oh I got friends,
In low places.

 

 

Chocolate Melting Moments with White Chocolate Cream Filling

Makes 18

125g (4oz) unsalted butter, softened

1/2c icing sugar

1tsp vanilla extract

3/4c plain flour

1/4c rice flour

1/4c (unsweetened) cocoa powder

1/2c ground almonds

 

Chocolate Spread

100g (2/3c) dark chocolate, chopped

20g (3/4oz) unsalted butter, softened

1 tbl coffee liqueur, Baileys, whiskey etc.

 

White Chocolate Cream

75g unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup icing sugar

50g white chocolate, melted

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Preheat oven to 170C/325F. Line two baking trays with baking paper.

Cream butter, sugar and vanilla in a medium sized bowl. Sift in flours, cocoa and almonds and stir with a wooden spoon to form a soft dough.

Shape teaspoons of the dough into balls, place on the prepared trays 1.5 inches apart and flatten slightly. Bake for 10 minutes. Allow to cool on tray for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Chocolate Spread: Place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Stir until chocolate has melted. Remove from the heat and place in a clean bowl. Allow to cool for a few minutes and then add butter and liquer. Stir and spread immediately.

White Chocolate Cream: Cream the butter, icing sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy. Stir through melted chocolate with a butter  knife.

Spread one biscuit base with chocolate and white chocolate cream, top with a second biscuit. Grate extra dark or white chocolate over biscuits before serving.

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Country Style: Chocolate Melting Moments

  • Oh pretty biscuits, with chock and cream bliss! I love the pic with coffee and half bitten biscuit, beautiful!

  • Ah guilty pleasures, I love it when people reveal!
    So do you like both kinds…Country and Western? 🙂
    Actually I get the wanting to bake to these kind of tunes. I’m sure some of my better cooking has been done to the Dixie Chicks and Johnny Cash. He’s stuck in Folsom prison and I’m making a 3 seeded sourdough.
    Thanks for the link back back too. These melting moments look mighty fine.

    • Country and western alike! I think I like that the lyrics are so singable and easy to remember, even when you’re sifting and measuring! Dixie Chicks and Johnny Cash are both excellent choices 🙂

  • Jenn they’re absolutely perfect right down to the fork marks on top! 🙂

  • How fantastic! They are gorgeous, Im with Ananda… the half eaten biscuit and coffee picture is perfect. Oh how I could munch the night away with these. They look divine. Not a huge country or western fan, but I can dig your baking tunes sista. 🙂

  • ducky says:

    Choc melting moments look so delicious(as Major CFC pointed out to me as he sat with a cup of tea) but I am not baking today-you might say “the storms of life are washing me away” but “on the other hand” maybe I’m just missing my old baking partner and feel uninspired (my heart cracked but it did not break). Hope you remember that “there’s no place like home” quackling !! With apologies to Randy…really sorry Randy…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Country Style: Chocolate Melting Moments at Blushing Strawberries.

meta