Chicken Pesto Pasta: Dinner in Minutes.

March 17, 2011 § 7 Comments

You may have thought that Blushing Strawberries went walkabout and found herself lost in the desert, with no internet access, photography or good food. Well, that would make a pretty fun story but truth be told I’ve just been rather lazy of late. Woops! Do you ever feel that you have a lot of time but nothing gets done? I feel it has something to do with the change of season, my mind has bounced forward to Spring while my body and actions are still waiting to leave winter. I’m perfectly content to ride this wave and snuggle up on the couch after dinner with a good book and a cup of hot milk, even if it makes me feel more like Trixie Belden or one of the Famous Five than a city-living-22-year-old! But we covered that embarrassing reality a while ago!

Fortunately, my inclination towards doing-very-little has not left NB starving and begging for scraps on the street corner. Actually, Bojangles is on our street corner so it really depends on what you consider ‘begging’! With all this free time and not a spare minute, dinner recently has had to be quick, no fuss kind of stuff. Last night Iย tried my hand at some Asian baby-back ribs, which were such a hit that I must reproduce them for The Patch, and it took very little effort indeed.

But when I’m really in need of a healthy quick meal I reach for the pesto jar. Sauteed mushrooms, pesto and mozzarella for breakfast. Sourdough with pesto and fresh tomato for lunch. Or salad with pesto for dinner.

I have not been able to make my own pesto since arriving in the States because all the grocery stores only sell small packets of basil, the type you would normally expect for rosemary or thyme, and (sadly) there is nothing here like Norton St Grocer. I’ve never been a huge fan of store-bought pesto, finding the taste to be too thick and salty, so I was excited when Trader Joe’s began to stock full bunches of basil last week.

 

I whipped up a small batch using this recipe and stirred the whole lot into wholemeal pasta with shredded chicken from the freezer.

Tell me Blushers, what’s your standby lazy meal??

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Chicken Pesto Pasta: Dinner in Minutes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken Pesto Pasta: Dinner in Minutes. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta