Tar Heels, basketball and shortbread.

March 9, 2011 § 5 Comments

I don’t know if you have ever experienced American college basketball, but that stuff is intense. I’m not talking about the game itself, although that can be nail-biting at times, but the loyalty of the fans goes beyond anything I have ever seen, and I was living with five Englishmen during the latest Ashes series in Australia…

Around these parts worship falls at the feet of the Tar Heels, from the University of North Carolina, and it’s not unusual to see people walking around in team paraphernalia on any given day. Come to think of it, even before I moved to NC I owned a Tar Heels T shirt and repeatedly stole NB’s Carolina hoodie. It’s just the way things are done.

 

Last Saturday I was thrown into the chaos when the Tar Heels played Duke in the final of the regular season at Chapel Hill and came out victorious 81-67. We had planned to watch the game at a local sports bar but NB and I were running a tiny bit late because we were sidetracked at this super dooper delicious Vietnamese restaurant called Lang Van. PS go there! So when we arrived at the ‘arena’ it was like entering a storm of pale blue and I quickly grabbed the back of NB’s shirt in fear that I would be lost in the swell. There were tables and tables and tables seating Tar Heels fans, drinking from cups big enough to hold three beers and eating wings. People were singing and clapping and ‘ohhhing’ and ‘ahhhing’ and one guy behind me even started crying. My friends, I had found America in all its sporting glory.

Shortly after the victory NB and I made our way out and back into the calm of the night, sharing a sympathetic glance with the woman who’s shoulder the crying man had now occupied.

The next morning we wake to find a pale blue package sitting on our doorstep! Huzzah! NB’s J2B had baked us shortbread biscuits in the shape of the Tar Heels footprint logo. It seems that my celebration feast was just about to begin!

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Tar Heels, basketball and shortbread.

  • I’m not into sports at all, but I am totally into these little tar heel cookies, so cute!
    *kisses* HH

  • Amazing huh 🙂 I know Aussies get a bit carried away with Footie ‘n all & no self respecting workplace could exist apparently without the weekly footy tips competition – but from a couple of stints in the US, including one glorious 3 months at Summer Camp I got a taste for this all powerful frenzie too…., it’s kinda cool – civilised modern gladiator stuff in a way.
    The cookies are pretty neat though aren’t they 🙂

  • hehe I have to admit I don’t watch much sport except for tennis and ice skating but I could get carried away for these cookies! 🙂

  • oh my gosh! Those cookies are sooooo cute!

  • ducky says:

    Must have been an amazing experience !!! So glad you survived and made it out in one piece-isn’t Jen B a darling to bake those scrummy cookies for you-could be enough to convert you,Quackling!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tar Heels, basketball and shortbread. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta