Red Velvet Cake and being at home in the South.

February 4, 2011 § 8 Comments

 

Mammy Oh now, Miss Scarlet, you come on and eat just a little, honey!

Scarlett No! I’m going to have a good time today, and do my eating at the barbeque.

Mammy If you don’t care what folks says about this family I does! I told ya and told ya that you can always tell a lady by the way she eat in front of folks like a bird. And I ain’t aimin’ for you to go to Mr. John Wilkenson’s and eat like a field hand and gobble like a hog!

Scarlett Fiddle-dee-dee! Ashley told me he likes to see a girl with a healthy appetite!

 

 

Scarlett, you go girlfriend! I like a woman after my own heart, especially back in 1939! And who could resist a good Southern cookout?! These last few days have been super busy running around ingratiating myself with the locals, but I always find time to make (and eat) a little something…So today’s offering, to make myself into more of a Southern Belle, is my first ever attempt at Red Velvet cake. It was actually really simple to put together and I didn’t even stain my top with the colouring. I tested my creation when some of the locals came over for afternoon tea and apparently I can stay!

And to those who may frown upon me for eating a thick slab of cake before dinner…

Frankly my dears, I don’t give a damn.

 

 

Red Velvet Cake

125g butter, softened (1/2 cup)

3/4 cup caster sugar (called ‘extra fine’ here in the States)

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 ¾ cups plain flour, sifted

1 tsp baking powder, sifted

1/4 cup cocoa, sifted

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 tbl red food colouring

Preheat oven to 160˚C (325F). Place the butter, sugar and vanilla in the bowl of an electric mixer and beat until light and creamy.

Gradually add the eggs and beat well. Add the flour, baking powder, cocoa, buttermilk and food colouring and beat until just combined. Pour into a lightly greased 20cm x 30cm (9inx13in) slice tin lined with non stick baking paper and bake for 25-30 minutes or until cooked when tested with a skewer. Cool on wire rack.

 

 

Vanilla Butter Icing

125g butter, softened

1 cup icing sugarm sifted

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

To make the vanilla icing, place the butter in the bowl of an electric mixer and beat for 6-8 minuts or until pale and creamy. Add the icing sugar and vanilla and beat for a further 10-15 minutes.

 

Meringue icing

1 cup caster sugar

1/4 cup water

1/4 tsp cream of tartat

3 eggwhites

To make the meringue icing, place the sugar, water and cream of tartar in a saucepan over high heat and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 3 minutes. Place the eggwhites in the bowl of an electric mixer and beat until soft peaks form. While the motor is running, gradually add the sugar mixture and beat until thick and glossy.

To assemble slice the cake into 3 x 10 cm pieces. Place 1 cake layer on a plate and spread with butter icing, repeat with another layer of cake and remaining icing. Top with the final cake layer and spread the outside of the cake with the meringue icing.

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to Red Velvet Cake and being at home in the South.

  • Woweeeeee…, this is a serious case of ‘ask & you shall receive’ huh. When you mentioned your Red Velvet Cake cooking I (for the 10th time I’m sure in the last year) said… I must have a crack at that., it sounds so interesting & is surely a stunner of the cakes. And shizzaaaaammmm…, you posted it. Thankeee kindly ma’am 🙂
    Must be something about we ‘good old Aussie gals’.., cos I’m with you here Jen…., I’m so over little birdy eating types. I say eat., eeeaaattt…. with gusto & pleasure & if that means I gotta run a bit harder, then so be it, I’m with you & Scarlet on this one. 🙂

  • Becca Rose says:

    Good LORD BKE I would be very tempted to have a slice/the whole cake! Tres jolie xxx

  • Why fiddle deedee I do love red velvet cake! And go Scarlett I like to think that men like women with a healthy appetite too! 😛

  • Neither i wouldn’t think for eating that gorgeous piece of slice before dinner. I recently did red velvet cake, your look far too beautiful and pro’I love love red velvet cakes 😀

  • ducky says:

    Will make the Red Velvet Cake next weekend darling if the temperature drops enough to turn the oven on!!Major CFC certainly hopes it will after running his greedy little eyes over the photo you posted!! Yum!!

  • Oh, I do love Scarlett. GWTW is my all time favourite movie. This cake is definitely worthy of her.
    *kisses* HH

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Red Velvet Cake and being at home in the South. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta