Miss Chu – Rice Paper Queen: Darlinghurst

January 5, 2011 § 8 Comments

When I decided to move to the other side of the world I didn’t fully grasp the amount of effort it would take! In hindsight, packing up my life and moving during the Christmas/New Year/ Summer Party season was not my finest thought! Somehow I have been trying to organise myself in between sipping cocktails, cooking BBQs and catching a few summer rays before the Northern winter. Through all this I’ve found that it’s the little things that take the longest amount of time, like choosing which novels I have to leave behind or remembering to change the address for my FlyBuys card (which reminds me…!)

But it’s really the last minute eating that is stressing me out! NB and I have nibbled (and gorged) our way through some amazing Sydney eats, but I’m still feeling weighed down (pardon the pun) with that – oh we should have gone there! – feeling.

These thoughts have seen us diligently crossing off a few extra locals over the past few days. Grill’d served up some top-notch steak sandwiches, herbed chips and vege burgers. While Sushi Yachiyo outshone its reviews with the nicest edamame I’ve had in Sydney, as well as hot fried agedashi tofu, melt in the mouth wagyu cheek, light and crunchy tempura, pork-filled gyoza (we were obviously on a health binge that day!) and a neat plate of nigiri sashimi.

The Delivery Vehicle! You ling, I bling!!

It’s time like these that also require you to pop in to Messina for an afternoon scoop of choc-mint gelato or get a tub of WowCow frozen yoghurt with crushed almonds and M&Ms for the walk down William St. Or you might find yourself ordering ‘The Inferno’ from Danny’s La Bussola Pizza even though it’s Tuesday night and only days after a New Year’s resolution of healthy eating…(actually the resolution was to use less technology. Fail.)

AsI leave Sydney on Saturday and head back home for my last two weeks in Aussie-land I decided to spend today chilling out at the beach packing, something that tends to leave me hot and bothered. Now picture this, it’s midday, you have two days left in Sydney and should be hanging with the cool kids but instead you find yourself sitting on the floor in a room surrounded by clothes, books, hairdryers, handbags, skipping ropes and gym mats. It’s simply a recipe for disaster (like that time I forgot to put the caster sugar in the orange and poppyseed cake – & I’m not even lying!) Enter NB and the grand suggestion that we take a wander down William St to eat lunch at Miss chu – Rice Paper Queen (which had moved to the top of the must-try list ).

 

Super cute packaging!

I want to sound like Usher when I say “oh oh oh oh oh oh ohhhmygod”

 

Duck Pancake $2.20

We lined up at the tuckshop and our food came ready in a paper bag and cute little boxes. I just love the packaging!

 

The Fresh Spring Rolls with Duck & Banana Flower ($8 for 2)

We ordered 2 lots of steamed dumplings, the Shanghai pork were my favourite although the Asian vegetable with garlic chives were also nice,  a duck pancake that received great reviews from NB, a pork char sui bun (not normally my thing with all the dough but this was pretty darn tasty! Just like pork stew in soft bread) and a serve of duck and banana flower fresh spring rolls (from which they get their namesake). The fresh spring rolls were so packed full of herby goodies, not just the obligatory noodle, although you definitely need the dipping sauce for that added flavour hit. But I loved that they made me feel incredibly healthy and self-satisfied! Add to this two bottles of water and it still comes to a total under $30 (you can’t get two sandwiches in Sydney for that price anymore!) .

 

Pork Steamed Dumplings $5 for 3

 

Parting words?

Why oh Why did we not try this place before?!?!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Miss Chu – Rice Paper Queen: Darlinghurst

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Miss Chu – Rice Paper Queen: Darlinghurst at Blushing Strawberries.

meta