Tetsuyas.

December 21, 2010 § 7 Comments

When was the last time you were truly spoilt? For me it was Wednesday, December 8, when the amazing NB took me to dinner at Tetsuyas.

I remember receiving my first subscription to delicious. magazine in 2004 when I was fifteen years old. It was around this time that degustation had become the new black, Tetsuyas was on fire and I was sitting at home in a small country town bemoaning the fact that I would never experience a romantic dinner at this great institution. I’m sure many of you can empathise! So when NB told me that there was no way we’re leaving Australia without going to Tetsuyas first…it was a dream come true!

Here is a quick run down of the day:

  • 6:00 AM teach pilates in Alexandria where I share excited gossip with Fit-Mama-Chef who had recently visited Tetsuyas for her birthday. I now understand why her eyes glazed over with mention of ocean trout confit!
  • 10:30 AM have a session with my PT who kills me with compound-weight exercises and then suggests that the best remedy for aching triceps is dinner at Tetsuyas (and possibly an epsom salt bath!)
  • Midday Meet AB for a coconut water and a handful of nuts – I’m trying to save my appetite. We spend a few hours lolling around down at Bondi (ps – how civilised is my life sounding right now?!!?)
  • 2pm Decide I really need to eat something lest I collapse and decide to head home for a bowl of peas and a white peach. I then lay on the carpet and read every site that mentioned Tetsuyas
  • 4pm Begin the ‘Princessification’ process
  • 6pm…still fiddling around with hair and nails and dresses and realise I am running late to get the bus
  • Meet NB at Town Hall and we walk to Kent St
  • 7:30pm Enter Tetsuyas with two door men, a maitre d, and a fourth waiter to show us to our seats
  • *gasp**squeal**giggle**sigh*

And then it began. Fleur was our waitress for the run down of the menu and our go-to-girl should there be any problems. She kept an eye on our drinks waiter, refilled our bread and checked to make sure the pace of the food was enjoyable (it was). When she sat us she asked if we were there on an occasion – umm yeah – the occasion is that my boyfriend’s awesome! Then we had a waiter to top up our water glasses and take our wine orders and another to bring the food to the table.

The ten-course degustation is $210 pp and there is an option for matching wines at $95 pp but after speaking with Fit Mama Chef, who found herself a bit giggly around the fifth course, and reminding myself that I had to be in the gym at 6:30 the next morning, we decided to order drinks as we went. The wine list is an absolute tome, I’m sure it’s one of the finest in Sydney, and it was a tough decision that led me to a Viognier from the Adelaide Hills. NB tried a couple of different beers.

The place is incredible, broken up into three or four (or five?!) dining rooms that felt, like NB said, as though you were eating in someone’s rather fancy home rather than a restaurant. In the room we were seated there were 11 tables, so you had plenty of private space to whisper sweet-nothings or whatever it is people do on such occasions…The glass wall looks onto Tetsuyas Japanese garden with a real-life sized waterfall and a pond that I imagined would be full of golden carp. As the evening darkened and little white lights twinkled outside, I felt as though we were in a fairytale.

The presentation of the food was second to none – a dust of celery here, a swipe of avocado soup there, a sprouting of sea cucumber. While I wish I had photos to share it just didn’t seem like the appropriate thing to do. So instead I’ll write out the menu and let your imagination run wild! Any last words?

Oh My God.

Wednesday, 8 December 2010

Chilled Cucumber Soup with Sheep Yoghurt Ice Cream

~

Sashimi of Kingfish with Blackbean & Orange

Marinated NZ Scampi with Avocado Soup & Avruga

Confit Petuna Ocean Trout with Konbu, Celery & Apple

Fillet of Mulloway with Asparagus & Pil Pil

~

Braised Ox Tail with Sea Cucumber & Yuzu

Pancetta Wrapped Quail Breast with Fresh Sprouts & Onion

Seared Veal Fillet with Sea Urchin and Wasabi Butter

~

Blood Orange Sorbet and Summer Pudding

Golden Peach with Peach Granita

Chocolate Pavé with Cream Cheese Ice Cream & Cinnamon Twigs

Chai Mochi

Tagged:

§ 7 Responses to Tetsuyas.

  • Man I love that place & your fabulous write up does it justice. Love the princessification process, so, so necessary for the sweet nothing & long dreamy look over a girls long stem glass. I agree with Fit Mamma on her suggestion to pace yourself with drinks at one of Tetsuyas deega’s – I was shamelessly tipsy & finding my heels & co-ordination just a little challenging 🙂
    Fabulous post lovely, thanks for sharing 🙂

  • How utterly wonderful! The food there is incredible isn’t it. And I thought that your day count down was very cute! 😛

  • That sounds like such a wonderful dining experience. I am so happy you had such a lovely time. Every girl needs a special treat now and again. THat is one fab menu 🙂
    *kisses* HH

  • ducky says:

    Sigh….gosh….ENVY…xo

  • applepie says:

    I was lucky enough to go a few weeks ago, with the exact same menu. I relished some of the courses (scampi), but found a few others a bit flat (lamb). Although we were there for 4 hours, I found myself overly full by the end. Spent most of the night awake with palpitations as my digestive system attempted to get through the night’s meal.

    I’m so happy I went, but I don’t think I could face it again. I agree with ordering your own wine, we decided to do the same, and I’m so glad we did! That would be ALOT of different wine and after a few courses I think the wine intake would dull the tastebuds!

    Love your blog!

    • We found the same! When you think about it, if you put it all on one plate it’s a looot of food!! I think you definitely go for the experience, and I was overwhelmed, but the saying ‘once in a lifetime’ is pretty applicable I think, once is enough!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tetsuyas. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta