Thanksgiving – The Goods.

December 3, 2010 § 10 Comments

If you read any American food blogs like here and here and here (!!!) you will have noticed in recent weeks a surge of Thanksgiving posts. Which have now ended. So I’m a little bit late.

NB and I have returned to Oz from our eating holiday in America’s south and only now do I feel like I have some authority to speak about the meal that is Thanksgiving. Prior to this trip I had only grasped the basics – turkey, pumpkin pie, mashed potato – but never before had I understood its mammoth glory (I have a newfound respect for Joey in the Friends episode where he ate the entire turkey. Kudos!)

This year NB and I were fortunate enough to experience two Thanksgiving meals – one on Thursday and one on Friday. Never before had I seen so much food. Thursday was 3 turkeys with 3 different stuffings, plus ham, plus a minimum of 8 sides like corn bake, broccoli coleslaw, buttered beans and bacon, cheese bread rolls…plus dessert. My body was torn between thanking me for the deliciousness and slapping me for stretching it to within an inch of its life. Australia simply doesn’t have an eating holiday to rival.

But what I loved most of all were the individual traditions. NB has always said that what really makes Thanksgiving special are those secret family recipes that sit alongside the turkey on the table. Over the two days we were blessed to try an asian sticky rice and sausage stuffing from NB’s Hawaiian cousin, Surfer Matt, ham biscuits from the masterchef EBW (from whom I’m attempting to beg, borrow or steal the recipe), a crumbly cinnamon sweet potato bake, revered crab cakes, and a southern speciality of banana pudding! Wow!

So tell me Blushers, what special dish will your family celebrate with at Christmas time??!

The Meal

Check out Rachel Ray’s Herb Roasted Turkey Breast…apparently she’s something of a cougar with the lads!

Surfer Matt’s amazing stuffing! For a similar recipe check out this stuffing from the blog Beautiful, Memorable Food

Like a ray of sunshine! Salad of pear, sugared walnuts, cranberries and gorgonzola…I needed this green!

EBW’s delicious ham biscuits

And I wonder why I was full!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Thanksgiving – The Goods.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thanksgiving – The Goods. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta