Finding the calm part two: Chocolate Cake.

November 15, 2010 § 9 Comments

Some people are mad about chocolate. AB for example, she loves the stuff. So does NB and JJM. Yesterday I was printing out my last essay at uni and the woman next to me threw up her hands in a huff and exclaimed:

“I can’t handle the stress, if I don’t have some chocolate soon I’m going to cry”

Does anyone else get the vibe that beach walks and bruschetta aren’t going to calm her nearly as much as they do me?!?!

Personally, I’m not a major chocoholic. If I am going to admit my vices it would be along the lines of cheese-bingeing or bread-addiction. Saying that, it’s 5:30 in the morning and I’m lying on my living room floor with a cup of coffee and a square of dark chocolate, trying to convince my body that YES! It does want to go and teach three hours of gym in 30 minutes. A great time for a touch of sweet!

But I understand that people love chocolate, and that’s great because I love making the world a happier place with a little chocolatey-infused love. Baking makes me calm and watching the people in my life enjoy my creations makes me happy, so this cake is my #2 secret to a less stressful world. Perhaps I should forward the recipe to that woman at uni…

 

 

All-In-One-Chocolate -Cake

Serves 10-12 (mmmm maybe!)

This is a Nigella Lawson recipe. It’s amazingly simple because everything, including the icing, is done in the food processor. Try to channel the domestic goddess while you’re baking by looking sexy and seductively licking the spatula (but then rinse it before you use it again please!) NB says this is the best thing I have ever cooked, I see where his loyalties lie…


Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease and line two 20cm round cake pans.

 

Sift 1½ cups plain flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda and 1/3 cup good-quality Dutch cocoa into the bowl of a food processor fitted with a knife blade. Add 1 cup (220g) caster sugar, 165 unsalted butter, chopped, at room temperature,           3 eggs, at room temperature, lightly beaten, 2 tsp vanilla extract and 3/4 cup (180g) sour cream. Process for 2-3 minutes until a smooth, thick batter forms.

Using a rubber spatula, divide the batter evenly among the prepared cake pans and smooth the tops (insert seductive spatula lick here). Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Icing:

Melt 180g good-quality dark chocolate, chopped, with 75g unsalted butter, chopped (either in a bowl over a saucepan of simmering water or in the microwave, remember to stir). Place into food processor with 1 tbs golden syrup, 1 cup (160g) pure icing sugar, sifted, 1/2 cup (120g) sour cream, at room temperature and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Process until smooth.

When the cake is cool spread one with 1/3 of the icing, place the other cake on top and ice all over. Decorate the sides with coconut and the top with strawberries if that’s your thing.

 

Life is uncertain.  Eat dessert first.  ~Ernestine Ulmer

 

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 9 Responses to Finding the calm part two: Chocolate Cake.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finding the calm part two: Chocolate Cake. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta