A Tavola, Darlinghurst.

October 10, 2010 § 4 Comments

In the past week I have eaten delicious scrambled tofu at Bondi’s Brown Sugar, goats cheese and roast tomato bruschetta at Trio, cheap and cheerful sashimi and teriyaki chicken at Sushi on Stanley, garlic white wine prawns, chorizo, pepperoni pizza and spinach pumpkin salad at Dish in Double Bay and a sumptuous feast at Neil Perry’s Spice Temple. Yet you may notice a lack of restaurant reviews here at the Strawberry Patch. Obviously it’s not from a lack of eating, but rather a love of eating. I don’t want to have to think too much about my dinner when I’m out, my friends probably don’t want me to pass comment on the taste, texture and presentation of every dish, and to be honest I’m always a little embarrassed to pull out my camera in the middle of a fine dining experience! Yet sometimes duty calls!

A Tavola on Victoria St, Darlinghurst, is somewhere I have been wanting to dine since I read rave reviews about it from my little hometown back in 2007, and now, three years after moving to Sydney, I can say delicious mission accomplished.

It was Friday when AB and I were planning our girl-date for the evening, emailing restaurant menus back and forth and bouncing around cuisine ideas, when I remembered that I would die if I didn’t eat at A Tavola in the very near future. 15 minutes later we had a booking.  Two hours later I was sitting at the long communal table with a glass of semillon, a side of herby focaccia and my book while poor AB was stuck in traffic and getting more stressed by the minute on Parramatta Road. Not that I minded one iota – sitting, sipping, reading, nibbling, anticipating a beautiful meal = Friday night bliss.

40 minutes later, with a refilled glass and at least ten text messages from my date we realised that AB was really quite stuck and perhaps our booking allocation would be over before we had even ordered. Enter the divine Maitre De, Milo, who shuffled the seating arrangements of other groups so that when AB arrived we could both settle in for the long haul and savour the taste of their handmade pasta and sweet flaking fish. With waitstaff who were attentive without being pushy, and a simple, delectable menu, I think A Tavola has become the new Friday night date spot for these 2 girls!

 

 

 

 

 

 

The daily specials and handmade pastas.

 

Reading ‘The Household Guide to Dying’

 

Pappardelle with goat ragu.

 

Crispy blue-eye with radicchio and grapefruit salad.

 

After dinner head across the road to Messina! Perfect scoops – coconut and tiramisu

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to A Tavola, Darlinghurst.

  • I’ve wanted to go here for ages! I keep hearing about how good the food is there. The papardelle looks divine! 🙂

  • Oh Jen., I’m up for the blue eye cod & grapefruit salad, what a great review, I’d love to gate crash your gal pal date next time Im in Sydney, I’ve had A Tavola on my list I must eat at for some time too, thanks for jogging my memory on this one, heard good things. Isn’t it the best when the Maitre D accommodates you when things go oops with the bookings, that just about makes my night when you get great service like that.

  • Lorraine it’s so good! You readers will be waiting for your review!

    Anna let me know next time you’re here and we’ll go and order as much as we can!! Three hungry girls and a communal table – enough said!

  • Ohhh yes… yes, and yes…and yes. How could you go wrong? Food sounds lovely. A little negroni for starters and nice choice of icecream for afters. Wouldn’t have picked any differently.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Tavola, Darlinghurst. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta