Banana and Berry Bread

September 23, 2010 § 6 Comments

Is there anything more delicious than filling the house with the warming aroma of something freshly baked? Vanilla wafting from room to room. The contrast of a heated kitchen against the cool spring air breezing through the kitchen window. The simple use of ones hands while humming to the radio and mixing and folding sweet delight, it’s all a rather sensual experience.

This was my afternoon, apron adorned, wooden spoon toting and excited to try the recipe for a banana and berry loaf that my mum recently sent me. As I have a tendency to bake like I cook – the photo gives an idea, the ingredients give guidelines, and nothing is set in stone as I sift and whip, mix and match, substitute and create -it sometimes ends in failure. But sometimes it is so successful that I have to pretend not to be surprised, that I meant to do it all along…although NB may then question WHY I have not replicated the chocolate-brownie-fudge-philly-choc-cream cupcakes that I fluked some time ago!

So this loaf was given a healthy Blushing Strawberries twist with greek yoghurt, almond meal and roasted hazelnuts.

Tell me, what deliciousness have you discovered by accident?

Note:  I used banana that I had frozen and defrosted and it didn’t seem to affect the end result at all.

(Relatively!) Healthy Banana and Berry Bread

Preheat oven to 160C.

Dry-roast a large handful of hazelnuts (or nuts of your choice) in a small frypan over low heat. When roasted, roll up nuts in a teatowel and smack with a rolling pin (or some other heavy object!) until roughly crushed. Set aside.

Beat 60g butter (softened), 80-100g Greek yoghurt (full fat), 1 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp vanilla extract until very pale and creamy.

Beat in 2 eggs.

Sift (twice into separate bowl): 1 cup plain flour, 1/2 cup hazelnut meal, 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda.

Resift into butter/yoghurt/sugar mixture and stir through with a large flat spoon or spatula.

Stir through 1 1/2 cups very ripe banana (mashed with a fork) and about 150g frozen berries.

Spoon into a loaf tin (10cm x 21cm), which is lined with baking paper.

Bake for 1 hour 10 minutes or until it passes the skewer test (that is a skewer comes out clean).

Leave in tin for 5-10 minutes before turning onto wire rack to cool (although it is delicious served warm when the berries are soft and gooey)

Serve with strawberries and a dollop of remaining Greek yoghurt.

Blush. Eat. Sigh. Dream.

Raspberry

Tagged: ,

§ 6 Responses to Banana and Berry Bread

  • This looks wonderful. Love your last bit….. blush, eat, sigh, dream. Reckon this cake is worth that 🙂

  • Meals says:

    Jen, where’s Meals’ piece? Miss you like I miss your cooking!

  • Alisa says:

    Now that is a wonderful combination. I love that burst of color.I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I like what you have here.if you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

  • Hannah says:

    This looks amazing! I love the idea of yoghurt and hazelnut meal as a twist on healthy banana bread 🙂 I even have some hazelnut meal and frozen bananas at the moment… it’s fate!

  • ducky says:

    love your twist on the original banana and raspberry loaf recipe which I sent you darling. It looks so yummy that next time I bake I will try your revised version and am sure that I will happily concede that it is far superior to the basic one!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Banana and Berry Bread at Blushing Strawberries.

meta