Muesli Mixer and the Blushing Strawberries brekky

September 10, 2010 § 8 Comments

I’m not a fashionista by any stretch of the imagination, I don’t swoon at the thought of a Chanel bag and I’m not lining up to purchase the new Gucci Guilty fragrance, but stick me in the aisle of Norton St Grocer, at the counter of Bondi Rd’s Russian deli, in the herb section of my local nursery, or even in a hardware store (random but true) and beware the reality of my inner consumer!

Perhaps herbs, verjuice and screwdrivers aren’t the normal purchasing habits of a 22 year old Eastern-suburbs female resident, but I think it has a lot to do with my upbringing. Dad has always refused to buy homebrand in the supermarket, even when things get tight financially it is never a waste to spend on good food. Mum, simply put, will always choose the butcher over Burberry.

So while my brother used to spend his lawn-mowing money buying dvds, I would trawl the supermarket aisles for sesame crackers, prosciutto & king island dairy…growing up in a small town it wasn’t long before I was recognised as the odd-ball 9 year old with tastes too old for her shoe size.

So what’s all this about? While my mum is a sucker for anything ‘mini’ – travel deodorants, mini cheesecake, mini champagne, single serve sauce sachets, I’m a bit mad for the idea of ‘make-your-own’. I love blending my own nut butter at Wild Food in the Bondi Junction Westfield, picking apples or berries from a farm and taking them home for pies and smoothies…hell even sandwich bars get me a little excited…control freak much?! Anyway, it was only natural that as soon as I read about the company Muesli Mixer in the latest issue of delicious. mag I had to check it out!

And what fun!

The brains behind the operation are a couple from Germany, Claudia and Florian, who love muesli (why are we not best friends already?) and decided to start a little business to supply a delicious breakfast to their friends. The cereal was a hit and they expanded through Facebook and into the homes of breakfast lovers around Australia.

It’s as simple as choosing your oats and grains – toasted, not toasted, rye, gluten free, honey…

Adding nuts, seeds and fruit…

Possibly including a few extras like amaranth or buckwheat…

Choosing a name (yes your muesli will be personalised!)

And paying for your order.

It’s almost too fun and too easy and I could have gone a little overboard! The Blushing Strawberries mix was Three Grains (Barley, Triticale and Wheat), Gojiberries, Buckwheat, Pepitas, Coconut, Pecan Nuts, Sesame Seeds and Sunflower Seeds. For $450g, plus the delivery fee ($5) it cost around $17, and it really does take the time out of buying a zillion different ingredients to make your own. When my muesli arrived within two days, I was so excited that I had to have a bowl right then and there. It was just so healthy and so good. And yes, I say ‘was’ – it’s already all gone!

Guess that means it’s time to get mixing!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Muesli Mixer and the Blushing Strawberries brekky

  • What an amazingly cool idea. I’ve indulged in the odd *buy everything in the health food store & mix your own* version, but never had one tailor made (so to speak), it’d be awesome. Go You.
    Love your attitude, my bro & I would spent all our pocket money on indulgent foods in the deli – we could never understand why my Dad wasn’t as excited by a new blue cheese or herb infused whateva that we got so excited about but then again Dad was the VB stubbie bloke & we both turned out as chefs.. Who woulda thunk huh.

  • Takes one to know one doesn’t it?!!

    What I’ve actually done is kept about 1 cup of the muesli and then added to it – flavour of the month: pepitas, sunflower seeds, millet, oats, slivered almonds, sesame seeds, chia seeds, coconut…and then when I get to the bottom I keep a cup and add other stuff, kind of like a sourdough starter! Mixing in half a box of Carmen’s gluten free muesli is really a yummy treat too!!

  • Gran says:

    Sounds very yummy Jenn…just like you were telling me BUT its a bit expensive for kids to flick around the floor!!!!

  • ducky says:

    love the idea of the Muesli Mixer and I can tell you it makes my Coles home brand sound as ordinary as it actually tastes!! Must check details in my last Delicious and take some serious action on the muesli front! Think your additions sound absolutely scrummy and the organic cinnamon powder would be heavenly. Thanks for your wonderful ideas as usual.

  • […] almonds, millet or buckwheat. And this is why NB really really dislikes my most recent ‘bird-seed-muesli’ […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Muesli Mixer and the Blushing Strawberries brekky at Blushing Strawberries.

meta