Triple chocolate cookies – the divine biscuit

July 16, 2010 § 2 Comments

I love baking. My stepfather is a shearer and when I lived at home my mum and I would spend all Sundays baking to stock up his ‘smoko’ esky for the coming week – lamingtons, ginger nuts, lumberjack cake, raspberry coconut slice and chocolate everything… When I moved to Sydney two and a half years ago to live alone I was suddenly without a stomach to send my creations (I don’t have much of a sweet tooth myself), so it is with great joy I now live with two chocoholics – although I need to wean them onto the things i like (raspberry friands, coconut biscuits, carrot cake etc) – and NB who will devour a tray of biscuits or brownies within a couple of days! We’re back baby!!

My brother and I adored these biscuits when we were growing up – I think it was afternoon tea of cookies and milk that got me through my HSC, the taste takes me back to sitting at our wide stainless steel island bench, listening to mum potter around the kitchen, reading cookbooks and playing scrabble.

Triple chocolate cookies

Preheat oven to 180°C.

With electric beaters, beat 150g butter (at room temperature), 1/2 cup caster sugar, 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar and 1 tsp vanilla essence until very pale and creamy.

Add 1 egg (lightly whisked) and beat until combined. Add 100g chopped dark cooking chocolate (I used Plaistowe although Lindt has just released a new 70% cocoa cooking chocolate), 100g chopped white chocolate and a handful of chopped dates (if you like hazelnuts or peanuts etc add them now also) and mix with a wooden spoon.

Sift together 1 3/4 cups SR flour with 2 tbs cocoa powder, add to butter mixture and mix until combined.

Use a tablespoon to make rounds of mixture and gently flatten onto the tray, approx 3cm apart.

Bake for 15-17 minutes.

Enjoy with a cold glass of milk or a hot mug of cocoa.

Triple word score!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Triple chocolate cookies – the divine biscuit

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Triple chocolate cookies – the divine biscuit at Blushing Strawberries.

meta