The Gluten Free Kitchen Makes Leftovers Pasta

June 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

As a 22-year old university student living in Sydney I can’t pretend that I don’t have money problems – it’s simply the nature of the beast. My friend and I were talking at dinner on Tuesday night about the cost of shopping/cooking for one, both admitting that we usually buy just one carrot, one tomato, two apples etc rather than letting anything go to waste. I remember one time when my (cheeky) local grocer commented on the selection in my basket – one potato, 6 mushrooms, 12 snowpeas…“still single I see“, he said to me!

But the truth is I abhor the thought of waste, I admit I’m one of those* people who will save a tea-bag for multiple uses, a habit many of my friends and family try to deny. Still, I think this is a step up from my Nan who washes cling wrap to hang on the line!

(*one of those – presuming there are other tea-bag hoarders out there)

The Great Depression grandchild that I am caused a minor waste-panic-attack in my crisper on Monday evening. A zucchini and six mushrooms were starting to tire (I never did make the omelette that I had planned), there was the mandatory lone carrot and a few other bits of veg, about half a cup of tomato sugo was left from making osso buco and a decent scoop of Philadelphia cheese that I had used in the most delicious accidental chocolate brownie cupcakes – not gluten free but I had to try the corner of one to make sure they were edible before I inflicted them on NB and the roomies (Note: definitely edible and if I can replicate the mistake I will post a recipe!).

9pm Monday isn’t the most inspirational time of night for cooking up a feast, but the things you can do with a tin of tuna, token veg and a zest of lemon…well, you know!

So here is my leftovers pasta! I know it doesn’t look much but it tasted so good, it probably cost less than $5, it took less than 10 minutes and is gluten free if you use GF pasta (I used a buckwheat spaghetti from my local organic store). I got the idea of stirring through cream cheese from the woman I babysit for, she made a delicious grated zucchini and fettucine dish recently that tasted too yummy and creamy to be good for you. I limited myself to a tiny bowl and then she came home and said she used 95% fat free Philadelphia cheese – I should have gone back for seconds!! Try it out at home, a healthy winter indulgence!

Leftovers pasta (quantities depend on how many people you’re cooking for, play it by ear!)

Cook pasta and set aside.

Slice or grate whatever leftover veg you may have in the kitchen, I used carrot, green capsicum, mushroom, corn, broccoli and onion. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a frypan, lightly fry onion with crushed garlic and sprigs of fresh sage or dried herbs, until fragrant and starting to soften. Add remaining vegetables, cook, stirring until they begin to soften. Add a good slug of tomato sugo and a dash of wine – red/white or vegetable stock. Add drained tin tuna. When nearly cooked through stir in some low fat cream cheese and grated lemon zest. Cook 3-ish minutes, add drained pasta and heat through. Season with salt and pepper and serve with fresh herbs and grated cheese if that’s your thing.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Gluten Free Kitchen Makes Leftovers Pasta at Blushing Strawberries.

meta