The gluten free kitchen prepares Tandoori lamb cutlets with Bombay potatoes

June 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

I know, I know! It’s Thursday and it’s been days since I blogged about recipes in the gluten free challenge! Working nights again this week makes it hard to cook anything of real interest, how many chicken soup recipes can I post?! Actually this week I did add one 375g can of red kidney beans (drained and rinsed), a teaspoon of fennel seeds and 400g tin chopped tomatoes to the master soup recipe for a bit of a change!

But I have done some cooking, just not much writing!

Welcome to dinner in the gluten free kitchen, this week we serve tandoori lamb cutlets with bombay potatoes and a healthy cheesecake.

Tandoori lamb cutlets with Bombay potatoes.

Serves 4

This is another of those recipes that was the catalyst for Blushing Strawberries, it had been snipped out of delicious. magazine months and months ago, stuck to the kitchen ‘ideas wall’ and stayed there ever since.

The excuses:

  • lamb cutlets are too expensive,
  • I don’t feel like Indian,
  • I don’t have mustard seeds and I keep forgetting about this recipe until I’m in my kitchen
  • Well with NB in America and only myself to feed I decided that lamb cutlets were affordable, I did feel like some tandoori and I only had to organise myself to buy mustard seeds and garam masala. The positives far outweighed the negatives and this dish is a hit! Plus I used my homemade labne (yoghurt cheese) – perhaps not traditional but I really wanted to test it out!! Yum!

    Mix 2 tbs gluten-free tandoori paste (I used Patak’s), 1 tbs honey, and 2 tbs natural yoghurt in a large dish, then add 12 French-trimmed lamb cutlets, turning to coat. Allow to marinate while you make the potatoes.

    Place 700g chat potatoes, quartered, in a pan of salted water, bring to the boil, then cook for 10 minutes until tender. Drain and set aside. Heat 2 tbs vegetable oil in a large frypan over medium heat. Add 2 tsp mustard seeds, then cook, stirring, for 1 minute until seeds start to pop. Add 2tsp gluten-free mild curry powder (I used Keen’s Traditional Curry Powder) and 1 tsp garam masala2 tsp grated fresh ginger, and potatoes, then cook for 2-3 minutes until potatoes start to crisp.

    Add 2 tomatoes cut into thin wedges, and 100g baby spinach leaves, cook for 2-3 minutes until spinach has wilted. Keep warm.

    Heat 2 tbs vegetable oil in a large frypan or chargrill over medium-high heat. Cook lamb for 2 minutes each side until lightly charred and cooked but still pink in centre.

    Serve the lamb with Bombay potatoes, mango chutney and extra yoghurt.

    Ummmm…Cheesecake for dessert?

    Deciding to make a gluten free “healthy” cheesecake was not my finest moment! The recipe came from my Elysia cookbook Purely Golden Door but I think that if you want to be pure, don’t have cheesecake. If you want cheesecake, don’t worry about being pure!

    Feel free to test it out for yourself but to be honest it really doesn’t taste like much at all!

    Orange and raspberry cheesecake

    Serves 12.

    Preheat the oven to 140 deg C (275 deg F). Put 1 kg low-fat gluten free cottage cheese (you could use soy cottage cheese as well for dairy free cheesecake) in a food processor with 3 eggs, plus 2 eggwhites, juice and zest of 1 lemon, juice and zest of 1 orange, 4 tbs cornflour and 1/2 cup honey. Process until smooth.

    Lightly crush 1 cup cooked rice flakes and spread them on a paper lined 30×23 cm baking tray. Pour the cheese mixture over the rice flakes and top with 150 g berries (frozen or fresh). Bake for 45 minutes or until set and golden.

    Allow to cool, then chill in the fridge and serve with extra fresh berries.

    I tasted the cheesecake mix before I poured it over the flakes and it didn’t taste of anything so I added one tablespoon organic cocoa and a scraped vanilla bean. It still didn’t take the dessert to dizzying heights! The cheese mix was tasteless, the rice flakes just go soggy and I ended up enjoying my gluten free soy ice cream and leaving most of the cheesecake!

    Tagged: , , ,

    Leave a Reply

        What’s this?

    You are currently reading The gluten free kitchen prepares Tandoori lamb cutlets with Bombay potatoes at Blushing Strawberries.

    meta