The gluten free kitchen prepares homemade hummus, yoghurt cheese and almond milk.

June 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

I simply love how productive I feel after a day of  organising and cleaning my house and kitchen cupboards! Yesterday was a beautiful, energising, sunny day and, while I was conflicted about not sitting outside and soaking up the warmth, the domestic goddess in me was just itching to come out, so I let her free to play!

A solid day's work in the homestead!

Here are the results:

Firstly, I’m proud to say I knocked over two of the things I have been writing about doing since blog day one! Hummus and yoghurt cheese! And now I question why I wasn’t making these all along as it took me less time to whip up 2 cups of hummus than I normally spend in the deli trying to decide which brand to buy, and yoghurt cheese was at least 1o times cheaper to make myself!

Hummus makes 1 cup.

Hummus - cheap as chips.

The great thing about this recipe is that you can adjust the ingredients to suit your taste. I used too much tahini in the first batch (1/4 cup for 400g chickpeas), which left a slightly bitter taste, so I just cut it down by 2 tablespoons the second round and it was much better!

Place 400g chickpeas (soaked overnight and drained – reserve liquid), 3 cloves garlic (crushed), 1/4 cup lemon juice, 1/4 cup tahini (or just under depending on your taste), 1 tsp cumin, pinch cayenne pepper in a food processor. With the motor running, slowly add 1/4 cup olive oil and process until smooth. Add a little reserved chickpea liquid if the mixture is too thick. Season to taste with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Leftover hummus can be stored in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 3 days, or frozen.

I also got around to the elusive yoghurt cheese, which took all of 4 minutes to make! How lazy do I feel about buying it all this time! I will have to make another Sheaf Salad with my own cheese now!

Yoghurt cheese

Cover a strainer with a double layer of cheesecloth. Empty into it a carton of low fat natural yoghurt (with no thickeners or gelatine). Place the strainer into a large bowl (leave room between bowl and strainer) and cover with wrap. Refrigerate over night.

Ideas for yoghurt cheese:

  • Topping for salads, fruit, meat dishes
  • Fat reducer: mix 1-2 tablespoons yoghurt cheese with 1 tablespoon peanut butter, mayonnaise, chocolate spread etc
  • Used as topping on baked potatoes by adding sour cream flavour buds and herbs
  • Mix 1/4 cup yoghurt cheese with 1/4 cup commercial ice cream
  • Add 1 packet low-calorie chocolate drink mix to 1 cup yoghurt cheese for a cheats chocolate mousse
  • Use as a frosting by mixing 1/2 cup icing sugar with 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and I cup yoghurt cheese. Chill and spread on cake before serving.

Thanks to Karen I also discovered how easy it is to make almond milk, only another 5 minutes out of your kitchen time. This is an expensive drink – 1 cup almonds only make one large glass of milk, but have a go and see what you think!

Blend one cup almonds (soaked overnight) and 2 cups filtered water until smooth. Strain milk through muslin into a large bowl to remove husks. Taste. If you want it sweetened, return to blender and add a couple of dates or scrape a vanilla bean into the liquid. And voila – homemade milk, so much easier than when I had to go and milk the cow in the mornings!

I then dehydrated the almond solids from the muslin in a really low oven, let them cool, pounded them in a mortar and pestle and made almond meal to use in baking this week. I kept some of the bigger clusters of almond to sprinkle over soy vanilla ice cream and it was like a healthy sundae crunch!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The gluten free kitchen prepares homemade hummus, yoghurt cheese and almond milk. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta