Gluten Free Muesli; Thai Chicken Salad; Chilli Pork Stirfry

June 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

Tomorrow I will wake up gluten free, how refreshing! I will start phase two of my journey with a bowl of homemade gluten free muesli. The base of my cereal was a recipe from the Golden Door cookbook, and then I mixed and matched with what was available in my supermarket and what I was in the mood for. Last week I bought a box of pre-packaged GF muesli (Freedom Foods), it was about $6 for 500g but mainly consisted of sultanas and puffed rice and was a little underwhelming. I sampled a few other brands, some were delicious but super expensive and others were too boring.

So I decided to make my own, and I warn you that this is one homemade alternative that is not cheaper, I ended up spending $17.50 for 1kg of cereal, but it’s well worth it. Later this week I will trawl the wholefoods stores to find where I can buy ingredients in bulk and then do a price check. As I say, stay tuned!

Here’s what I used:

Gluten Free Muesli - Caution! Addictive!

  • 500g rice bran
  • 325g rice flakes
  • 100g puffed millet
  • 50g amaranth
  • 5 Tbl pepitas
  • Handful each sultanas, almonds, dried cranberries, banana chips

Last night I made larb gai with mint and basil – a thai inspired chicken mince salad, to keep it gluten free serve with either rice or rice vermicelli noodles. I am a thai salad aficionado, I love the fresh hits of lime, chilli, ginger and that the dish lets the ingredients speak for themselves – my favourite is the chicken, banana prawn and papaya salad at Longrain – but this is actually the first time I tried one at home. To be honest the recipe fell just short of satisfying, like a gutter ball right before the pins, the texture was there but the flavour was missing. I’m going to make it again with double quantities of sauce, and I might grate the ginger instead of slicing it.

Prep board

Here is the original recipe:

Heat 150 ml chicken stock in a wok or large frypan over medium-high heat, then add 500g minced chicken or pork, 1/4 cup fish sauce and 5cm piece ginger, cut into matchsticks. Cook, breaking up the meat with a wooden spoon, for 5 minutes or until the meat has browned and cooked through. Add 1 long red chilli, deseeded and cut into matchsticks and 1tsp sugar and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes, then transfer to a large bowl. Add 2tbs lime juice and 1 cup mint leaves, 1 cup basil leaves, 1/2 cup coriander to the warm mince mixture, then gently fold through allowing herbs to wilt. Taste and adjust lime juice, fish sauce and salt.

Serve on a bed of sliced cucumber and butter lettuce leaves, sprinkle with 2 tbs cashews, extra herbs and lime wedges.


Larb Gai with mint and basil

A similar dish that ticks every box is from an issue of Donna Hay Magazine a few months ago. I was always hesitant to make chilli pork and peanut stir fry because NB doesn’t like coriander, but I’m so glad I ended up giving it a go, and he ate (and enjoyed it) without even noticing the herb!

First you make fresh chilli sauce:

Mix 4 long red chillies, chopped; 3 garlic cloves, peeled; 1 cup coriander (cilantro); 1/2 cup grated palm sugar (I used brown sugar instead); 1/3 cup fish sauce, 1 cup lime juice (about 4 limes); 5 cm piece ginger, peeled and sliced in a food processor until well combined. Makes 2 cups, store in fridge for up to one week.

Then you make the stirfry:

Cover 200g thick flat rice noodles with boiling water until softened, drain and rinse under cold water.

Heat 1 tsp sesame oil in wok over high heat. Add 500g pork fillet, thinly sliced, and cook for 2-3 minutes until browned. Add 200g sliced green beans1 bunch sliced broccolini, and 3 cups chopped wombok (I used red cabbage because it was in the crisper) and cook for 3-4 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Add the noodles and chilli sauce and cook for 1 minute. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup roughly chopped peanuts* and 1 cup coriander to serve.

(*use cashews instead of peanuts if you have a peanut allergy, alternatively omit the nuts completely and sprinkle the dish with some fried sage leaves or shallots).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gluten Free Muesli; Thai Chicken Salad; Chilli Pork Stirfry at Blushing Strawberries.

meta