Beet-ing the country into shape.

August 6, 2011 § 9 Comments

The times in life when I wished I had a camera:

  1. Watching a man on a stand-up paddle board be surrounded by dolphins at Bondi Beach, from the cliffs above.
  2. Many nights of laughter with friends, just to capture the moment.
  3. Seeing the sunset over Charlotte’s skyline from the middle of a traffic jam

And something I never thought I would see, a squirrel sitting in the middle of the road eating Bojangles!
~
I kid you not,  a ballsy little squirrel was sitting in the street with both paws around a biscuit and a packet of Bojangles seasoned-fries. I had to give him a little toot in my car because he would would NOT move! Finally he upped and carried his lunch to the sidewalk, where he sat back down and resumed his munching.
What does this mean?
  1. I should never leave my house without a phone or camera.
  2. Michael Moore will release Fast Food Animal Nation in the fall of 2011.
  3. The next Man vs Wild will see Bear Grylls holding his own in a chain restaurant.

Following this experience it seemed only natural to watch Supersize Me & Food Inc. I was hoping to learn whether rodents prefer drive through or counter service.
~
Instead I was bombarded with a distressing reality check. Kids as young as 4 and 5 are being diagnosed with diabetes. Chickens are being pumped so hard with steroids that their little legs can’t support their overgrown bodies. And poor Alexandra Jameison (vegan chef) had to sleep with a man who consumed nothing but McDonalds for 30 days…shudder.
~
If everyone ate more vegetables the kids would be fit and carefree, Sunday lunch wouldn’t be the result of a science experiment, and Alexandra Jameison would have better sex.
There is this great raw food restaurant in Charlotte called Luna’s Living Kitchen. It is second-to-none. They have this one dish called Lunasagne, which is layers of raw zucchini ‘pasta’ with sundried tomatoes, cashew nut cheese and crimini mushrooms.
Check out the full menu here.
~
I have had some beautiful zucchini from our vegetable garden recently so I thought I would turn my hand to a similar dish, using a filling of nuts and sundried tomatoes and topping it with a cashew-beetroot ‘cheese’.
~
Now if I could just get some to that squirrel ….
~
Raw ‘meaty lasagne’
~
  • Slice 2 zucchini lengthways using a mandolin
  • Use the grating attachment in a food processor to grate 2 carrots. Set aside. 1 beetroot.
  • In a blender, mix a handful of walnuts, 2 tbl sundried tomatoes, the carrot and 1 tbl coconut oil until chunky. Set aside
  • Next process 1/2 cup cashews and enough water to make a smooth consistency. Add the grated beetroot.
  • In a glass square dish make a single layer of zucchini ‘pasta’. Add 1/2 nut topping and another layer off zucchini. Add remaining nut topping, final layer of zucchini and top with beetroot cheese and a sprinkle of chia seeds.
Serves 1-2.

Tagged: , ,

§ 9 Responses to Beet-ing the country into shape.

  • Yep, I gotta say, Im disappointed not to see a pic of the squirrel, they are just so darn cute. :) Love the look of your dish, beautiful colours. :)

  • ducky says:

    I don’t see why a pesky little squirrel should get a “meals on wheels” delivery of such a delicious looking dish if you can’t find a way of getting a serve of it to me,quackling!!!

  • Look at the colour of that gorgeous dish!
    It is a rather sobering thought to think of all the animals that will start to have health complications due to peoples change of food habits…

  • Tiff says:

    Ha, love it! I would have loved to see that squirrel chowing down on some Bojangles.

  • Hannah says:

    Isn’t it wonderful the way beetroot can make a dish so colourful it just makes you smile? And I absolutely know what you mean about wishing a camera was at hand to capture all the moments of wonderfulness – I myself wish a camera could have caught the fun night I had tonight :)

    • It’s often the case that when you’re having too much fun there is no time for photo taking! I love the beetroot ‘crisps’ from health food stores. I’m sure they’re not truly healthy but they are truly delicious!

  • LOL, that squirrel sounds a little bit like me :D
    That beet lasagne is a thing of beauty. Such lovely colour. I happen to have some beets in the fridge right now that I can’t figure out what to make with them.
    *kisses* HH

  • JasmyneTea says:

    Great post – I’m going over to the States in December, and I’m looking forward to trying a Vegan/Raw restaurant in Fountain Valley – I haven’t seen anything like it here in Syd!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beet-ing the country into shape. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.