Harry Potter & Pirate cupcakes.

July 22, 2011 § 7 Comments

‘The hottest day of the summer so far was drawing to a close and a drowsy silence lay over the large, square houses of Privet Drive.’

The words that started an empire.

 

 

I read my first Harry Potter book, The Chamber of Secrets, when I was 13 years old, three years after The Philosopher’s Stone had hit bookshelves but  before Potter Mania had engulfed the world. From that moment the spell was cast and I devoured book after book in quick succession. It wasn’t until page 640 in book number four, The Goblet of Fire, that I had to learn patience. Slow months went by as I awaited the release of Prisoner of Azkaban,  my young mind nearly exploding in anticipation of what the Hogwarts crew was up to.

 

And so it goes with many of the great series.

It was late December 2001, I was coming out of the cinema after watching the first Lord Of The Rings film with the Batman and my dad. The clock had just gone 3pm yet the temperature outside still sat on 42˚C (c.100F). I was on a little sugar high from choc-tops and Maltesers and the back of my legs had gone to sleep about an hour prior. Standing in the carpark, without words at the AWESOMENESS that was LOTR, Batman and I thought we would absolutely die if we had to wait an entire year for the next installment.

 

It was 1999, the streets were drowning in rain, I was 11. We were at a coastal town, having enjoyed breakfast at a seaside cafe watching the storm punish the nearby sand. Batman wanted to get back to the hotel where he would have access to cable. Unfortunately for Batman it was nice weather for Ducks and chickens to trawl second hand bookstores and antique shops in search of the next volume of Trixie Belden, my favourite all-time series, first published in 1948 and not easily accessible at the local library or bookstore. Store after store after store until finally we came upon a man selling rocking horses and old books.

 

It was mere weeks ago when separation anxiety once again reared its ugly  head. NB and I had been loyal followers of the HBO series Game of Thrones, staying up past my bedtime each Sunday evening until the final nail-biting episode. Again, an entire year must go past before I will be reacquainted with those friends.

Now, you may ask what on earth all this talk has to do with pirate cupcakes? Good question!

Another series that has spanned nearly a decade is Pirates Of The Caribbean. While I enjoyed the first POTC, very much actually, it wasn’t one of those “ARE THEY REALLY MAKING ME WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL…” kind of films.

But I do love pirates, and all things nautical.

Two things led to the creation of these cupcakes. First was the release of the most recent POTC film, On Stranger Tides, and second was my toenails.

Yep, you heard right. Toenails. O.P.I has released a Pirates of the Caribbean range and I loved their jeweled, ocean green lacquer. A combination of blue and yellow food colouring and I think I got pretty close!

 

 

 

Tell me blushers, what movie, book or show has hooked you the most?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Harry Potter & Pirate cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Harry Potter & Pirate cupcakes. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.