Smoothie Love.

June 13, 2011 § 4 Comments

Gosh I can be silly sometimes.

This Saturday past we travelled up to Raleigh for a wedding. Considering that the weather was sweltering I had packed a bag with a pretty light summer dress, a pair of strappy sandals and a hundred pins to sling up my hair and  keep my neck cool. Makeup would be bare summer essentials: bronzer, clear lipgloss, mascara. The next day I would have a fresh change of shirt and shorts for the drive home. How cool, calm and collected did I sound?

That was until we were driving into Chapel Hill, two hours from home, when I turned to NB and asked:

“Did you put my bag in the car?”

NB: “Did you ask me to?”

BS: “No….ohh gosh!!”

I had a mental image of my overnight bag sitting on our bed beneath the ceiling fan and light that I also didn’t turn off (add electricity bill woes to wardrobe disaster!)

NB looked and me and I looked at NB. NB looked down at the (now unflatteringly sweaty) skirt, singlet and flip flops that I was wearing and I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry.

NB: “How did you forget your bag?”

And this is where food comes into the story, once again addling my brain and dominating my attention.

BS: “I was hungry and decided to make a smoothie before we left…I brought the smoothie with me at least!” I said, holding up a long empty glass. “It was delicious!”

Luckily NB saw the funny side and was happy to make a detour into Macy’s. I’m not adept at clothes shopping on a good day but under a time constraint with the thought of appropriate wedding attire hovering over my head, talk about pressure! It was on like Kong. 10 minutes, a knee length blue dress and a pair of wedges later and we were back out the door. And thank goodness for RH, who hooked me up with makeup, shampoo, jewelry and all the other essentials. Beware, having me as a house-guest may result in a raid on your bathroom cabinet!

But as they say, all’s well that ends well. The wedding was beautiful, full of song and beauty and love, good food and fine company. As for my little faux pas, if I had the time again I probably would still choose the smoothie. It was just really good.

Tell me Blushers, what was your biggest OMG fashion moment?

Banana & Berry Smoothie

Serves 1

Blend:

1/2 frozen banana

1 cup mixed berries (blueberry and raspberry used above)

2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup milk (almond milk used above)

Pour into chilled glass.

Add 1/4 cup cold coconut milk

Swirl with a teaspoon to combine.

Remember your bag.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Smoothie Love.

  • Oh no! I’m guessing you guys stopped at Crabtree Valley Mall in Raleigh for your dress. I used to live right behind it!

    The worst thing I’ve ever done on a trip like that was when I forgot to pack ANY underwear when I went to Key West for a long weekend. We stopped at Target before getting on the ferry so it wasn’t a big deal, but it’s a good thing I realized before we got to the keys because I’m really uncertain if they have stores like Target down there.

  • That’s a great story, I’d choose the smoothie too if it meant stopping for a quick shop & buying a new outfit…., but that’s the sort of gal I am :)

  • should i say thank God i never had omg fashion momet, sadly i can’t take things easy provided i get things better than it should be …you seemed to much easy than me! and love for your fantastic smoothie is evident here :)

  • Oh lordy. That would have sent me in to a sweaty chasing my tail kind of lather on trying to find an outfit that quickly. You did well!
    It must have been a lovely smoothie ;-)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Smoothie Love. at Blushing Strawberries.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.