Pesto Hummus

February 11, 2011 § 6 Comments

 

 

I still haven’t mastered hummus, I think it’s just one of those things that you need to be taught by a Lebanese mother. However, considering my lack of Lebanese-mother-friends at the moment I thought I would just have another crack at it myself, and I’m certain that we’ve made progress since the first attempt.

Yesterday was play day with the food processor, whenever I pull it out I tend to have a good blitz in one go. After breadcrumbing, ice cream making (stay tuned for that), health ball buzzing and mashed potato whipping I looked at the chickpeas in the fridge and decided – it’s you and me kid.

 

 

My rough helpings of ingredients might guide you, but don’t quote me on them! For about 2 cups of chickpeas (soaked overnight, drained and rinsed) I added 2 big tablespoons of unhulled tahini, the juice of 1 large lemon, 2 cloves crushed garlic and maybe 1/4 cup olive oil. Then it wasn’t pureeing as much as I would like but I think this had more to do with the wattage of my food processor than the quantity of ingredients, so I just kept feeding it homemade chicken stock (which I finally have down to an art form!) until it smoothed out a bit. Then I poured in the balsamic vinegar and oil from my deli olives and buzzed along a bit more.

 

 

In the end it was still quite grainy, and this is where we need the work, but the taste was nice and not too chickpea-ish.

I served the hummus with dinner last night, as an alternative to butter for nice chewy bread, and while I don’t think anyone else tried it I made a terrific discovery! When I was clearing the table I stirred the remaining pesto into the hummus bowl and wouldn’t you know it, the taste was awesome! I had hummus on toast for breakfast and can’t walk past the fridge without dipping in with my teaspoon.

Now to just work on the texture and I may declare hummus victory (but if you know a Lebanese mother please send her my way!)

 

 

 

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to Pesto Hummus

  • Don’t know a Lebonese mother I’m afraid, but if your game post the question on The Hospitality Guru FaceBook page…., ( http://www.facebook.com/thehospitalityguru ) there’s about 1,000 chefs in that group & they all love helping out a laydeeeee :) :) You wouldn’t believe the help I get…, I once posted to see if anyone had any good ‘goat recipes’….. uhuh…, all these middle eastern chefs jumped in with offers including a PDF of his goat recipes cookbook. So., go get ‘em tiger
    Love the idea of hommus & pesto, you’ve got me going with this… :)

  • ducky says:

    I have never,ever,in my 47 years tried to make hommus!!I just rock up to my local deli or supermarket,pick up a tub and proceed directly to the checkout-what a cop-out!I admire anyone who even attempts to make it from scratch-great effort OBO.Good luck with Lebanese-mother-search!!

  • What a great idea for a fresh approach to hummus! I just posted a basic hummus recipe last week and was shocked by some of the responses – so many regular bloggers had never made their own. Anna’s suggestion is a good one! :)
    Valerie

  • I never tried to make hummus, congrats on ur victory and have no Lebanes mother friend, oh ya love the idea of pesto in hummus!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pesto Hummus at Blushing Strawberries.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.